Monet’s Blurry Water Lilies

Artists are people for whom I have great admiration. To take a scene from your imagination and translate that into a beautiful image on a canvas requires a mixture of creativity and talent that is hard for my analytical mind to process. I cannot draw a decent stick figure. Maybe that is why I am drawn to photography, because I have the ability to create an aesthetically pleasing image without having to draw it!

My favorite works of art are usually those from the Renaissance and before, with their classical figures and sharp, life-like lines. One notable exception to this preference is the work of Claude Monet, the “Father of Impressionism.” I distinctly remember the first time I saw one of Monet’s paintings in an art book in school. Honestly, I am ashamed to admit that my first thought was, “Wow, that’s blurry….” but as my taste has (hopefully) matured, I have really come to love the beautiful “blurriness” of his method and the incredible ability he had of capturing light in a painting. To me, his paintings are like a memory of something beautiful you once saw, the edges blurred by time, but even more resplendent by memory than it was in reality…..

20120412-233241.jpg
Water Lilies, 1906, Art Institute of Chicago

20120412-233301.jpg
Bridge over a Pond of Water Lilies, 1899, Metropolitan Museum of Art

Sooo…..when I took these photos of the water lilies in mother’s water garden and they did not turn out as sharp and crisp as I would have liked, I was reminded of Monet’s “blurry” water lilies and decided to roll with them anyway :)…….

20120412-233844.jpg

20120412-233859.jpg

2 thoughts on “Monet’s Blurry Water Lilies

Leave a Reply

