An Awakening….

This past weekend I had a rare couple of hours to myself, so I decided to play with my camera a bit. My Mother had given me some of her photography books to look over and I spent a little while reading about aperture, shutter speed, ISO, and other alien terms. Honestly, it was like the first time I read Shakespeare – I had to re-read it at least four times before I had the slightest clue what it meant, and I am sure I will have to read it ten more times to grasp the full meaning! However, I took my new (albeit meager) knowledge, grabbed my camera and did something I have wanted to do for months, but have just been too intimidated to try – I SWITCHED THE SETTING TO MANUAL! Ok, at first the screen was all black and then I started adjusting and it turned all white…..but then a light bulb went off in my head, the camera lens is kind’ve like the pupil of your eye and you can control how much light comes in! Now, I realize all of you experienced photographers are laughing now because I didn’t already know this, but it was a quite a revelation to me. πŸ™‚

So, I adjusted settings…. and adjusted some more settings….snapped some shots….went inside, downloaded them….AND….well, most of them pretty much stunk….but, a few of them actually were not too shabby. And in those few, I saw a glimmer of richness, of depth, and a capturing of light in a way that I had never done before on the safety of auto settings!

Therefore, I have made a resolution – I am on Manual and I am never going back! Please bear with me as I have much to learn πŸ™‚

Here are a few of those first shots….

20120523-074446.jpg

20120523-074504.jpg

20120523-074527.jpg

20120523-074553.jpg

20120523-074613.jpg

5 thoughts on “An Awakening….

  1. They’re really lovely! I’m new to photography too and my husband has been telling me for ages to take the camera off “idiot mode” and start using it properly! Charming !?
    I like close up shots but get frustrated as it’s sometimes so windy around here and the flowers sway around so much!

    • Close ups come much easier for me than the landscape shots, mine are just missing something. Hopefully I will figure it out soon! I think you can adjust a setting (shutter speed maybe?) to make the camera shoot faster when it is windy or do what I do, hold the stem of the flower with one hand out of the shot and click with the other-I do it all the time!

  2. How brave of you! I’m a beginner too and rarely venture into the unknown… but you have inspired me to make an effort too! Your photos are lovely!

Leave a Reply

