My May Garden: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Let’s start with the good:

20120530-064933.jpg

First strawberries!

20120530-065017.jpg

20120530-065115.jpg

20120530-065137.jpg

My wild and woolly whiskey barrel….

20120530-074048.jpg

Now the bad: for some reason one of my hollies is dying….

20120530-072628.jpg

I have been forced to cede over one of my raised beds to the three year old ๐Ÿ™‚

20120530-072805.jpg

And now the ugly: this is a main branch of my beloved magnolia, a pesky caterpillar looking thing caused damage to bark and woodpeckers have had too much fun :(. The arborist thinks we can save it though….

20120530-073419.jpg

Hope y’all have a nice day!

6 thoughts on “My May Garden: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  1. I too hope you can save the magnolia. We saved our beloved acer by acting quickly when it appeared to have a virus.
    Raised beds are so versatile… ๐Ÿ˜‰ And the old whisky barrel is a lovely container for plants… I’m so envious!

  2. I love your three year old’s play area! I think that should have been included in the “good”. And your “goods” look wonderful. Puzzling about the holly. They are usually so reliable. Of course, it had to happen where you need two to match! Sorry about your magnolia. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Thank you! Yes, I was being grumpy, he loves his dirt box :)! Yes, those hollies have given me problems before, I have already had to replace one and I cannot figure out why. I have several in other parts of my garden that have been no trouble at all! Thanks for your kind comments!

Leave a Reply

