Projects

I have pretty much had a paintbrush in my hand for the better part of the last week.

My dining room chairs have been in desperate need of a fresh coat of paint for the last year and I have been avoiding the task like the plague. But last week I could stand the sight of them no more and decided it was time. I am very much a do-it-yourself kind of girl, much preferring antiques from estate sales that I can give new life to with a fresh coat of paint or varnish. However, after moving into my current home and spending the last several years painting EVERYTHING….and I do mean everything….walls, moldings, cabinetry, ceilings- I even put a specialty paint on the brick on the fireplace….I am just sick of painting. The thought of sanding, priming, and painting six chairs made me nauseous.

I had heard rumors of some miraculous European paint called Annie Sloan Chalk Paint that you could apply over anything without sanding or priming, so I did some research, paid a ridiculous amount of money for a quart of paint and some special wax and….it was worth every penny!

This wonderful paint made this task a million times easier and even, dare I say, somewhat enjoyable. Everything you have heard about this stuff is true. You can water it down to make it thinner, leave it sitting out to make it thicker, and it adhered very well to my chairs that had a shiny clear-coat on them! It is expensive per quart, but it lasts forever. I double-coated six chairs and used only a 1/4 of the quart. The waxing part is no fun, but it beats sanding and priming by a mile!

I used “Old White” – there is a joke in my family that if you stand still long enough I may paint you white :).

So here are the results….

20120608-095235.jpg

My kitchen and dining room walls are yellow, which sets off my great-grandmother’s Blue Willow nicely, I think…..

20120608-095312.jpg

20120608-100045.jpg

I was so happy with the chairs, I decided to try to do something with this barrel I got suckered into buying at an antique store (long story, let’s just say I have a hard time saying no to sweet, little old ladies :)) It was in terrible shape and painted the most hideous shade of green you can imagine. So I watered down the chalk paint to tone the green down, and smeared with the dark wax and Voila! I was pretty pleased (a certain member of my family’s “why does it look dirty if you just painted it?” comment notwithstanding….)

20120608-100907.jpg

Hope you have a wonderful day!

7 thoughts on “Projects

  1. Annie Sloane paint is fairly expensive but I’ve always had good results. She does beautiful shades and, I agree, it’s worth spending a little more.
    Good job – worth all the effort!

Leave a Reply

