Antebellum Architecture

Ok, I am probably wearing you out on Natchez posts. This will be the last (I think)….I severely sprained my left wrist last week and have had to immobilize it in a splint, unfortunately the doctor is concerned the damage maybe worse than a sprain and I might be looking at surgery :(. I am hopeful though.

Anyway, gardening one-handed is almost impossible and photography isn’t much easier….so, it looks like I will dredging the archives for posts for at least a few more weeks.

Enough about me…..

Most of the antebellum homes in Natchez are examples of Greek Revival style emphasizing elaborate porticoes and Corinthian columns…..
Stanton Hall

20120816-101146.jpg

20120816-101257.jpg
The idea was to invoke the feeling of the formal lines of these ancient structures of Athens….

Photos taken by lovely sister on her world travels….

20120816-102447.jpg

20120816-102513.jpg

The result was a grand home designed to impress, and yet the feeling you get when entering these homes is somehow gracious and welcoming. Hospitality was (and still is) a big deal to most Mississippians and the exterior architecture, as grand as it is, inspires you to come “sit a spell” on the porch with a glass of sweet tea and just enjoy the view….
Dunleith

20120816-103205.jpg

8 thoughts on “Antebellum Architecture

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your wrist – I hope you recover without an operation.
    Keep posting if you can… even dodgy holiday snaps 🙂
    Look after yourself x x x

  2. For me, the last photo evokes the big mansions of cotton plantations of the 19th century in the South. These mansions are so beautiful, I’d love to visit one someday. Beautiful photos !
    I hope your wrist is getting better !

Leave a Reply

