August Blooms

A mild August has kept flowers in bloom in my garden a bit longer than usual. These crepe myrtles with their large flower heads are staples of most Southern gardens (and the bees love them too!)….

20120825-153211.jpg

20120825-153428.jpg
“Limelight” hydrangeas are one of my favorites, the blooms last forever and they can be cut and dried for fall wreaths…..

20120825-153747.jpg
I love the yellow mini flower halo on these zinnias, one of those details I never noticed until I started snapping pictures!

20120825-154410.jpg
Ok, this is technically not a bloom, but I love ferns, especially these “Autumn” ferns with their fall coloring, it makes me think about the season to come!

20120825-154529.jpg

Have a wonderful weekend!

6 thoughts on “August Blooms

  1. Crepe myrtles are pretty common roadside trees here in Korea, too, and in gardens back in Queensland. Hydrangeas, though native to these parts, seem a lot less common here than in Japan, where I often saw them in the wild.

    Today, like yesterday, there’s a touch of Autumn in the morning air. I’m quite excited about the photographic possibilities of the coming season – which we don’t really have at home – though it also sends shivers of remembrance of the cruel Winter not far beyond…

      • Haha – of course, you’re only seeing my GOOD ones, not the thousands of duds! Congrats on your new camera. You must be having a blast playing with it.

Leave a Reply

