New Orleans

We were close to the Big Easy yesterday on a business trip and I just couldn’t resist.  I only had four hours to spare, but I found my way to French Quarter and managed to snap a few pictures.  (I also managed to squeeze in a muffaletta, a beignet and a couple of pralines :))

New Orleans is one of the most unique places in the world.  It was built in the middle of a swamp where the mighty Mississippi River empties into the Gulf of Mexico.  The influence of being a world-wide port has made it a melting pot for many different cultures and the result is a crazy, eclectic mix that flavors the cuisine, architecture and the people. I will warn you, the Big Easy evokes strong emotions- you either love New Orleans or you hate it.  Personally, I am smitten.

Over the next few posts, I will try to take you on a mini-tour (remember, I was only there for four hours!)

The architecture is just an amazing mix of tradition and funk….

IMG_5160 IMG_5301 IMG_5073
IMG_5107

IMG_5156

Music is the soul of New Orleans….IMG_5177

and then there is the general craziness that makes it New Orleans….
IMG_5121

Hope you will enjoy the trip!

2 thoughts on “New Orleans

Leave a Reply

